Lately, I have been asking God to release me OUT OF old assignments and INTO new ones. This has been a fervent prayer of mine and I’ve been spending more and more time with Him because I really have need of His wisdom and revelation.  It was while in prayer that He showed me something quite amazing: enclosed garden I saw myself in an enclosed garden surrounded by incredibly beautiful leaves, flowers and foliage so thick that I could not see past them. I was closed in  from above, beneath and all around.  I was perplexed as to why I was surrounded by such awesome beauty when where I was in my life did not look nor feel “beautiful” at all. 

My friend, have you ever been in a situation that seemed impossible, frustrating and hopeless?  Where there seemed to be absolutely no way out? Perhaps you initially prayed for where you are but now it feels as if the grace to endure has been lifted. What if I told you that God has an exit plan, a divine exit that He created just for you and your circumstance?

Exit-strategy

Throughout the Word of God there have been countless divine exits preordained by God. Come with me, my friend as we recall just a few starting with the Israelites.

The Israelites had been in bondage for over 400 years and endured painful circumstances under Egyptian oppression. (Exodus 12:40-41) But God had a plan, a divine exit. The Bible says that they boldly left Egypt while their oppressors were distracted mourning and burying their first born. He even gave them favor as they left. (Exodus 11:3, 12:31-36)

After leaving Egypt they came to the Red Sea with their oppressors swiftly pursuing after them. (Exodus 14:10) But God had a plan, a divine exit. The Israelites were instructed to stand still and see the salvation of the Lord. They were also told that the Lord would fight for them and that they should hold their peace. Then God miraculously opened the door to their exit by lifting the vast waters, allowing them to walk safely and securely on dry land. (Exodus 14).

Paul and Silas were stripped, beaten and placed in the inner part of the jail with their feet chained. But God had a plan, a divine exit. While Paul and Silas were praying and worshipping God caused an earthquake that shook the foundation of the jail causing all of the prison doors to open and loosening all of the prisoners from their chains. (Acts 16:16-26)

Lot and his wife were in Sodom and Gomorrah when it was determined that the two cities would be destroyed by the raining down of burning sulfur. But God had a plan, a divine exit. They were given the chance to leave and avoid the devastation and destruction. (Genesis 19) I could go on!

My friend, who or what is your oppressor? What Red Seas are you facing? What has you chained and in bondage? What is burning down around you giving urgency to your exit? In each of these situations, God knew where His children were and where they needed to be. And He had a plan to divinely lead them out. They seemed to be closed in with no door of exit in natural sight. They had all cried out to God for their departures – And God came through just as He is coming through for you.

My friend, have you ever been to a movie theater and didn’t notice the red Exit sign that was right in front of you? That sign had always been there. It was only that you suddenly became aware of it. The builder of the theater had factored an exit, in fact several exits before he even began laying down a single stone. So it is with God. His Word says that before you were formed in your mother’s womb He knew you. Before you were born He set you apart. (Jeremiah 1:5) And as your Creator He predestined divine exits before He formed the Heavens and the earth just for you. (Psalm 146:6)

In our waiting, God is working

After some time, God revealed to me the meaning of my standing in the enclosed garden. The beauty that surrounded me in a painful and difficult season was His loving protection, provision, mercy and grace. The LORD, our God knows how to care for His children. Even when it seems that He is not with you, He is. He promises to never, ever leave you nor forsake you. My friend, even in seasons of heartbreak and disappointment GOD is present (Psalm 34:18). He comforts (John 14:26), orders our steps (Psalm 37:23, Proverbs 16:9), and protects us (Psalm 91, 2 Thessalonians 3:3, Isaiah 41:10, Psalm 34;19). I am excited that we have a Father who is is able to make a way for us even in the wilderness. (Isaiah 43:19)

Be encouraged, my friend and let’s give God praise for our predestined divine exits. Let’s give glory to the King of kings and Lord of lords who has already gone before us and made the crooked paths straight. (Isaiah 45:2) Let’s fast and cry out to God to reveal to us His secrets. (Jeremiah 33:3) And soon the exits that have been there all along will be revealed and opened to us. I don’t know about you but I am ever so excited. I can vividly see us, my friend, on the other side of our divine exits with eyes filled with tears of joy as we look around and see that our Heavenly Father has come through for us, YET AGAIN!