Tags

,

The incredible and remarkably effective counting is like fingernails screeching slowly down a chalkboard to a child. Boy, do they hate to be counted. The ‘1’ means your doing something you shouldn’t be doing. The ‘2’ means ‘Hey, I’m warning you’ and by ‘3’ all bets are off and a ‘time out’ is in order. Typically by one, my darling Noah takes heed but occasionally she needs to be shown that Mommy means business. It’s the 1, 2, 3 Magic book that’s sold millions of copies to desperate parents. The ‘magic’ of it’s effectiveness, according to it’s authors is that no yelling or screaming is allowed nor necessary, just a calm voice. If by the third warning Noah continues to disobey or ignore my warnings she is to get five unpleasant minutes of time alone to reflect on what she’s done and how she can do things better next time.

When you made the decision to make Jesus your Lord and Savior something miraculous happened immediately. The Holy Spirit came to dwell within you. He is our Comforter when we need tender loving arms around us and no one else’s will do. His anointing empowers and equips us to work powerfully in the areas of our calling. Another crucial role of the Holy Spirit is to direct and guide us; often by way of a gentle warning to tell us that what we are doing is not in alignment with the Word of GOD or prompting us to move in a different direction. Like 1,2,3 Magic, the Holy Spirit often does not need to yell or scream. He graciously allows us the power to choose how we’ll respond to His promptings. When GOD revealed His glory to Elijah it was not revealed in the powerful windstorm, the earthquake, or the fire, but in a still small voice (a gentle whisper). (1 Kings 19:11-12 KJV)

I have experienced the promptings, leadings and warnings of the Holy Spirit on several occasions in my walk with GOD. He reveals Himself in various ways – through dreams, revelations, visions and that still small voice. Let me tell you: I have heeded His warnings and was greatly blessed and I have on several occasions ignored His promptings and experienced significant and unnecessary sorrow and pain. We can choose to respond to His warnings or suffer the consequences. In the Bible Jonah refused to heed GOD’s promptings to go to Ninevah. After several warnings to obey, Jonah was given a ‘time out’ and made to spend three days alone in the belly of a fish contemplating his actions and praying for forgiveness. (Jonah 1:1-17)

Noah thinks I’m ruining her fun but I see the peril that lies ahead if she continues on the path she’s going. My friend, GOD is no killjoy; trying desperately to find ways to take the pleasure out of life. Oh no! Actually it’s the complete opposite. He understands that the pleasures the world offers are empty and lead to our spiritual, emotional and physical destruction. Our GOD is omniscient and He can see the dangers we face when we do not take heed of His warnings. His forewarnings are to protect and guide you. Oh my, I tell you that there is abundant power, blessings, and great joy when we operate within His will.

My friend, what has GOD prompted you to take heed of? Is He warning you to stop a certain behavior? Or perhaps He’s leading you down a new unfamiliar path or guiding you through an opened door. Whatever He is prompting, warning or leading you to do, please take heed. The Bible says, “My sheep listen to my voice; I know them and they follow me.” (John 10:27 NIV) He is the Good Shephard who has gone through great measures to protect, direct and save you. It is because of GOD’s immeasurable love for you that He gives promptings and warnings. And with your obedience there will be greater blessings, a closer relationship with Him and indescribable joy. He is faithful and He will not let you down. I promise you!

I truly hope this message blesses you. I see you immediately taking heed to His voice. And my heart is overflowing with joy to know that in your obedience you are in the greatest position to receive His absolute best. I’m so, so, so very excited for you!